Jacksonville crime reduction Task Force to probe workforce training, mentoring, and more

Jacksonville, FL — A pool of more than 150 applicants have been whittled down to a few dozen, who will soon start their mission of studying Jacksonville’s crime problem and determining how to fight back against it.

WOKV told you several weeks ago that City Council President Aaron Bowman was convening a Task Force on Safety and Crime Reduction. Since then, applications were accepted from those interested in both chairing and being a part of the group.

Now, Bowman is filing legislation with his recommendation on the 46 members and Chair of that Task Force, who he says represent diverse backgrounds, and many different areas of interest and expertise.

While the Task Force will develop its own plan of action, Bowman has created several subcommittees, which give some indication of intended areas of study for the group. Those include Workforce Training Programs, to address areas of the City with high unemployment; Community Engagement, to develop community action groups; Mentoring programs, to create programs that involve business and community volunteers; and Business Partnership Opportunities, to increase business partnerships, including funding. The Task Force could choose to add more subcommittees.

Bowman’s legislation is slated for a final Council decision by the end of January. The Council could choose to amend the membership list and guidance for the group.

The Chair- Pastor Mark Griffin- will then kickoff the Task Force and vision moving forward. The application to join the Task Force told prospective members they would need to be willing to commit to meeting twice a month for up to two years.


Chair: Mark Griffin

Co-Chair: City Council Member Sam Newby

City Council Member: Lori Boyer

Mayor’s Administration: Charles Moreland

Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office: Lakesha Burton

State Attorney’s Office: Stephen Siegel

Public Defender’s Office: Rob Mason

Kids Hope Alliance: Joe Peppers, Jennifer Blalock

Duval County Public Schools: Warren Jones

Youth: Mia Allen, Brandon Griggs


Clifton Anderson

E. Joyce Bolden

Francois Brown

Ricky Brown

Camille Burban

Betty Burney

Josh Cockrell

Larry Cook

Richard Danford

Frank Denton

Amy Donofrio

Sabrina Edwards

Ben Frazier

Tom Geismar

William (W.C.) Gentry

Ellen Glasser

Jeff Golden

Shelley Grant

Constance Hall

Phyllis Hall

Marian Hannah

Darcel Harris

Preston Harris

Sam Harrison

Carolyn Herman

Linda Joseph

Ronnie King

Sean Mulholland

Michael Munz

Ceil Pillsbury-Schellenberg

Alicia Sitren

Timothy Sloan

Donna Webb

Vicki Waytowich

Shamika Baker Wright

mobile apps

Everything you love about wokv.com and more! Tap on any of the buttons below to download our app.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!